Wide Bay’s sporting champions recognised by Llew O’Brien

April 2, 2017


Wide Bay’s sporting champions recognised by Llew O’Brien

Wide Bay has many young people with great sporting abilities, Federal Member for Wide Bay Llew O’Brien said today.


“I’m pleased to congratulate 22 sporting champions in Wide Bay who have been awarded $500 each from the Australian Government’s Local Sporting Champions program,” Mr O’Brien said.

“Wide Bay’s sporting champions come from all communities in the electorate, they participate in a diverse range of sports, and they distinguish themselves in state, national and international competitions,” he said.  

“The cost of participating in these events can be quite high, especially where travel over great distances is required, so this funding will help to ease that pressure and assist them towards achieving their sporting goals.”

The Federal Government’s Local Sporting Champions program supports young sportsmen and women between the ages of 12 and 18, by providing grants of $500 to help meet the costs of participating in sporting events, including travel, equipment, uniforms and accommodation.

Name                                 Competition                                                    Community

Ethan Lewis

Queensland Softball State Championships

Ringtail Creek


Bryce Robinson

State Hockey Championships


Lucas Parry

State School Football Championships


Henry Hamilton

Queensland School AFL U15


Casey Dobson

State Touch Championships


Lachlan Dudgeon

State Touch Championships


Zane Branco

2016 All Schools Athletics Championships


Ayden Hatchman

Boys National Indoor Hockey


Rose Elmer

National Indoor Hockey Championships


Olivia Emanuel

Australian Surf Life Saving Championships

Sunshine Beach

Jamie Mills

National Indoor Hockey Championships

Pie Creek

Max Moore

Australian Surf Life Saving Championships

Sunshine Beach

Mia Smallman

Australian Surf Life Saving Championships

Sunshine Beach

Max Smallman

Australian Surf Life Saving Championships

Sunshine Beach

Indiabeau Laborie

2017 Youth Championships

Noosa Heads

Shayla Sinclair

Queensland School Tennis Championships


Damon Exarhos

Australian Gymnastics Championships


Amelia Chambers

State Age Netball Championships


Lucy White

Queensland Schools Touch Championships

Castaways Beach


“These young sporting champions build on the Wide Bay region’s reputation of producing outstanding athletes and they all do a fine job of representing their sport and their community through their sporting endeavours.  I congratulate them on their success and wish them well in their sporting pursuits,” Mr O’Brien said.

“There were many applications for the Local Sporting Champions Program and only limited grants are available, but I am really impressed by the depth of talent, the level of commitment, and the ambition and pursuit of excellence, that the applicants demonstrated.”

To be eligible to apply for a Local Sporting Champions grant, applicants:
• must be aged 12 to 18 years (inclusive);
• must be required to travel a distance of 250 kilometres or more, return.
• be participating in an official national sporting organisation (NSO) endorsed sporting competition.

The Australian Sports Commission (ASC) is responsible for the management and coordination of the program, with grant recipients selected by a local panel. 

Applications for the grants can be made at any time throughout the year, through the Australian Sports Commission’s website www.ausport.gov.au/champions. For further information contact Mr O’Brien’s office on 1300 301 968.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


In the spirit of Australia, I acknowledge all citizens who contribute to making our nation the greatest on earth.

I acknowledge our defence force personnel, past, present, and emerging, for their service to our nation, and particularly those who have made the ultimate sacrifice in the defence of Australia.

I also acknowledge the Australian taxpayers who, through their hard work, pay for the infrastructure, health, education, and emergency services that keep our proud nation healthy, safe, and prosperous.