Wide Bay’s sporting champions recognised

July 26, 2017


Wide Bay’s sporting champions recognised by Llew O’Brien

Federal Member for Wide Bay Llew O’Brien today announced the latest round of successful applicants from the Coalition Government’s popular Local Sporting Champions program.

 “I’m pleased to congratulate 20 sporting champions in Wide Bay who have been awarded $500 each,” Mr O’Brien said.

“Wide Bay’s sporting champions come from all communities in the electorate, they participate in a diverse range of sports, and they distinguish themselves in state, national and international competitions. 

“The cost of participating in these events can be quite high, especially where travel over great distances is required, so this funding will help to ease that pressure and assist them towards achieving their sporting goals.”

The Federal Government’s Local Sporting Champions program supports young sportsmen and women between the ages of 12 and 18, by providing grants of $500 to help meet the costs of participating in sporting events, including travel, equipment, uniforms and accommodation.

Name                           Competition                                                                            Community

Ella Boot

UK Hungary Boxing Tour


Caitlyn Taylor

Australian Karate Nationals


Alec Jardine

Rugby League National Championships


Dominique Sandow

State Rugby League Carnival


Kaitlyn Ryan

Westfield National Youth Soccer Championships


Shanelle Adams

National Hockey Championships


Kaitlyn Walker

Georgina Hope Foundation Swimming Championships


David Mostofizadeh

Australian Open Karate Championships


Darcy Rankin

BMX National Championships


Levi McDermott

Queensland Schoolboys Soccer Championships

Cooloola Cove

Abigail Slavin

Australian Boxing Championships


Casey Payne

Australian Athletics Championships

Peregian Beach

Anniston Chappell

National Hockey Championships

Maryborough West

Diarmid Chappell

National Hockey Championships


Ben Buggy

School Boys Rugby League Championship


Alfred Watcho

School Boys Rugby League Championship


Selwyn Cobbo

School Boys Rugby League Championship


Ethan Druce

Victorian Short Course Swimming Meet


Bella Smith

Australian Football Championships


Traevonnah Fisher

State Rugby League Junior Carnival


“These young sporting champions build on the Wide Bay region’s reputation of producing outstanding athletes and they all do a fine job of representing their sport and their community through their sporting endeavours.  I congratulate them on their success and wish them well in their sporting pursuits,” Mr O’Brien said.

“There were many applications for the Local Sporting Champions Program and only limited grants are available, but I am really impressed by the depth of talent, the level of commitment, and the ambition and pursuit of excellence, that the applicants demonstrated.”

To be eligible to apply for a Local Sporting Champions grant, applicants:
• must be aged 12 to 18 years (inclusive);
• must be required to travel a distance of 250 kilometres or more, return.
• be participating in an official national sporting organisation (NSO) endorsed sporting competition.

The Australian Sports Commission (ASC) is responsible for the management and coordination of the program, with grant recipients selected by a local panel. 

Applications for the grants can be made at any time throughout the year, through the Australian Sports Commission’s website www.ausport.gov.au/champions. For further information contact Mr O’Brien’s office on 1300 301 968.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


In the spirit of Australia, I acknowledge all citizens who contribute to making our nation the greatest on earth.

I acknowledge our defence force personnel, past, present, and emerging, for their service to our nation, and particularly those who have made the ultimate sacrifice in the defence of Australia.

I also acknowledge the Australian taxpayers who, through their hard work, pay for the infrastructure, health, education, and emergency services that keep our proud nation healthy, safe, and prosperous.