April 23, 2024

As work continues to progress on the Cooroy to Curra Section D (Gympie Bypass) project, night construction will take place at Kybong along the current highway, Federal Member for Wide Bay Llew O’Brien has advised.

From 6pm to 6am, Monday 29 April through to Tuesday 30 April 2024, work will be undertaken to remove site accesses and temporary line marking, and install electrical cables, new signage, and line marking.

“For the safety of motorists and road workers, temporary traffic signals will be in place during the night works,” Mr O’Brien said.

On Monday 29 April 2024, southbound traffic just south of Keefton Road can expect a short delay of up to 5 minutes due to temporary traffic signals.

Southbound traffic on Tuesday will be detoured via the Old Bruce Highway between the Woondum and Traveston interchanges.

Northbound motorists can also expect intermittent lane closures throughout the night works.

“Motorists should ensure they drive to the changed conditions, follow directional signage, and allow extra travel time,” Mr O’Brien said.

Section D, the four lane 26 Kilometre realignment of the Bruce Highway between Woondum and Curra is expected to open later this year and will bypass Gympie, eliminating eight sets of traffic lights.

The completion of this section of the Bruce Highway will then provide a flood proof four-lane divided highway from Brisbane to north of Gympie, which will reduce travel time, improve safety, and increase freight efficiency.

In 2018 the former Coalition Government allocated $800 million for the Gympie bypass as part of the Bruce Highway four lane Cooroy to Curra upgrade, which has been rated as one of the deadliest stretches along our national highway.


In the spirit of Australia, I acknowledge all citizens who contribute to making our nation the greatest on earth.

I acknowledge our defence force personnel, past, present, and emerging, for their service to our nation, and particularly those who have made the ultimate sacrifice in the defence of Australia.

I also acknowledge the Australian taxpayers who, through their hard work, pay for the infrastructure, health, education, and emergency services that keep our proud nation healthy, safe, and prosperous.